

# The Canadian Council for Accreditation of Pharmacy Programs Le Conseil canadien de l'agrément des programmes de pharmacie

Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Toronto, 1207 – 144 College St., Toronto, ON, Canada M5S 3M2 Phone (416) 946-5055 • Fax (416) 978-8511 • Website: <u>www.ccapp.ca</u>

#### Highlights CCAPP Board Meeting and Annual General Meeting June 17, 2021

The CCAPP Board met via videoconference on June 17,2021 to conduct its annual Board meeting and AGM. Highlights of the meeting are presented below:

#### Accreditation Decisions and Site Visits

- University programs
  - University of Saskatchewan was awarded Accreditation Status for the Doctor of Pharmacy program for five years through June 2026 with the requirement of an interim progress report due March 2023.
  - University of Waterloo was awarded Accreditation Status for the Doctor of Pharmacy program for 6 years through June 2027 with the requirement of an interim progress report due in March 2023.
  - Site visit to Memorial University will be held early 2022.
  - Pharmacy Technician programs
    - Stenberg College (Surrey, BC) was awarded Accreditation Status for their Pharmacy Technician Program for three years through to June 2024 with the requirement of an interim progress report due March 2022.
    - Anderson College (Mississauga, ON) was awarded Accreditation Status for their Pharmacy Technician Program for four years through to June 2025 with the requirement of an interim progress report due March 2022.
    - Fanshawe College (London, ON) was awarded Accreditation Status for their Pharmacy Technician Program for five years through to June 2026 with the requirement of an interim progress report due March 2023.
    - Okanagan College (Kelowna, BC) was awarded Accreditation Status for their Pharmacy Technician Program for two years through to June 2023 with the requirement of an interim progress report due March 2022.
    - Kingston Learning Centre (Kingston, ON) was placed on Probation Status with a site-visit scheduled late 2021.
    - Westervelt College (London, ON) was awarded Accreditation Status for their Pharmacy Technician Program for five years through to June 2026 with the requirement of an interim progress report due March 2023.

#### CCAPP Executive 2021-22

- Dr. Nick Busing, President
- Dr. Curtis Harder, President-Elect
- Dr. David Edwards, Past-President

#### CCAPP Board 2021-22

• Dr. Marie-France Beauchesne was appointed to the Board as an AFPC representative and Ms. Tana Yoon was appointed to the Board as the NAPRA representative. CCAPP Board recognized and thanked retiring board members Dr. Chantal Pharand and Mr. Sam Lanctin for their contributions to the mission of CCAPP.

## CCAPP Committee Chairs 2021-22

- Nick Busing will chair the Executive Committee
- David Edwards will chair the Standards Committee and the Nominations Committee
- Kendra Townsend will chair the Bylaws Committee
- Julee Joseph will chair the Pharmacy Technician Programs Committee

### **Committee Reports**

- The Executive Committee led by President David Edwards met six times during 2020-2021. Further work was completed on policies development, addressing issues related to the pandemic and its effect on experiential placements, as well as meeting with Colleges Ontario to discuss their program developments and concerns.
- Accreditation site visits were held virtually during the 2020-2021 year.
- Strategic planning was delayed due to the pandemic. It is planned to resume once we are able to safely meet in person.

#### Task Force Reports

• The International Accreditations Resource and Strategy Task Force chaired by Iris Krawchenko has clarified language on the CCAPP website related to "International Accreditation". It is clearly stated that students graduating from programs that have received CCAPP International Accreditation who wish to practice in Canada must meet the requirements for internationally educated pharmacists outlined at Pharmacist's Gateway Canada. A meeting was held with NAPRA to discuss changes made to the International Standards and the CCAPP website. The Board approved resuming our international accreditation mission.